“Come What May”*

I know that it’s been awhile since I posted, save for the awesomeness that was Wet Hot American Chicken, and I apologize for that.  Last semester I wrote about a theme I had come up with for that hideously bad start to my graduate school career.  I had one lined up in January for this spring, and just never got around to posting it.  After the events that transpired over the past five months, it’s still apropos today.

I heard it when I was re-obsessed with the Rogue Wave cover of Buddy Holly’s song, “Everyday.”  I had loved it a year or so ago when I first found it, and truly started to appreciate it again once it was utilized in the Rachel Getting Married trailer.  It’s a pretty simple theme really, and I can’t imagine needing to write too much to explain it.  “Come What May” means just what it says – nothing is going to stop me, and I will be fine, come what may.

I may not be prepared, but I will do my damnedest to not be fazed by anything this piece of shit school throws at me.  I weathered many a storm this semester, and I’m looking forward to getting out of Tennessee for the next three months or so.  I get to head back to DC for a few months, spend some time in Virginia in the meantime, and even visit North Carolina for a week on the beach.  This past year has taught me a lot, not only about myself, but about what to expect from the world.  I will never assume that anyone around me is competent again.  This year’s experiences have been steeped in other people’s stupidity so much, that I know I can only rely on myself, come what may.  For now, though, I’m just happy to be done.

*Side note – this theme has nothing to do with Moulin Rouge.  I have always and will always hate that movie.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

