Wet Hot American Chicken

The other night, on a fluke, my friend and I decided to head to the grocery store, grab some stuff, and make a dinner.  Instead of looking up a recipe or making some weird, pre-made meal like Hamburger Helper, I decided to just invent a dinner from scratch, because, you know, laziness.

I wanted to start with a salad because it was nice and warm down here in Nashville.  I threw some baby spinach in a bowl, tossed in some dried blueberries, golden raisins, sunflower kernels, and a little bit of lemon juice and zest.  I made a honey vinaigrette and tossed the salad (no joke necessary), and then sprinkled some fresh mozzarella on top.

For the entree, I wanted to make a light chicken, since it would go well with the salad and the spring night.  I juiced a full lemon, grated some zest, and added salt, ground white pepper, rosemary, and thyme.  After scoring the chicken breasts, I soaked and lightly kneaded the meat to infuse the flavor.  I seared them in a pan for a few minutes before putting them in the oven to cook fully.  While they cooked, I made some long grain white rice with a quarter cup of butter to thicken the consistency.  Once the chicken finished, I poured some of the juice onto the rice.

All in all, it turned out pretty damn good.  Not too creative, but simple, easy, and ridiculously delicious.  I think if I made it in the future, I would add some asparagus to the entree, because what meal wouldn’t be better with asparagus?

One of the better meals Ive had recently.

One of the better meals I've had recently.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Wet Hot American Chicken

  1. Because, you know, Darfur.

    I can’t stop using that. For serious.

  2. Aspragus always makes everything better.

    That and wine, but seems you have that covered.

    I find myself craving asparagus at the weirdest times. So good.

  3. Lizbo

    i miss you. that sounds delicious. i also can’t stop listening to the soundtrack to jesus christ superstar, so, feel free to mock me.

    I’m not really sure how to respond to that.

Leave a Reply

