Happy Go Lucky

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I’m a huge, huge movie snob.  I have easily seen one or two thousand films in my 24 years on this planet and voraciously devour more and more every year.  I had my eye on the upcoming Oscar-baiting flicks easily since last year, but sat down tonight to pore more carefully over 2008’s crop and make a list of ones I wanted to see.  I can’t wait for Doubt or Revolutionary Road or even Frost/Nixon.  But then one popped out on the list (of very unlikely Best Picture contenders and big threats for Best Actress contenders) and I found myself clicking on a link for the trailer.  This glorious sight is what waited for me on the other end:

How can you not fall in love?  The story is positively heart-warming and the film itself is getting rave reviews.  Basically, school teacher Poppy is irrepressibly cheery and refuses to let anything get her down.  Even when her bicycle, which she so happily rides through the busy streets of London is stolen, her first thought is only, “I didn’t even get a chance to say goodbye.” She decides to finally get driving lessons and ends up with Scott, who’s as uptight as she is laid-back.  I don’t know about you, but I smell hilarity on its way.

I’m not usually a fan of cheery movies that exist for the sole sake of bringing a Hallmark card to life, but this one is simply too infectious.  There’s another trailer available on the apple.com site that was made for the American release that’s a little bit less sentimental but no less charming.  As for the reviews, Sally Hawkins already won the Best Actress award at the Berlin Film Festival, and is starting to garner buzz in the States about another nomination.  To be honest, it will probably be that no talent botulism depository Nicole Kidman who steals her spot for her role in Australia, but it never hurt anyone to dream.

So who’s in?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

