Writing the New Chapter

Yesterday, at 9 in the morning, I registered for classes.  For the first time in years, I got up early, turned on my computer, downloaded some bullshit program, and signed myself up for courses on the way to achieving a degree.  And it felt amazing.

Ten weeks from yesterday, I move into my building in Nashville and start the two year journey that will be obtaining my Masters in Education.  I’ll be working with college students, with other people in my cohort, and with some professors who are national leaders in their field.  I’ll eat, sleep, breathe, and live collegiate education and every random aspect of it, from Res Life to Student Activities to mental health issues.  My new Bible is already Binge, a book by Barrett Seaman about every possible facet of the modern college experience, from drugs to sex to athletes to the drama of a coeducational living experience.  I read it a few years ago and it’s still one of the best books I’ve ever read.  As an English and History double major, that’s saying a lot.  I will be up to my ears in admissions, Greek Life, affirmative action, and LGBT issues.  In short, I’ll be learning everything I’ll need to shape the next few decades of American higher education.

I can’t wait.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Writing the New Chapter

  1. what girl???

    i refuse to compete for your affections! (ok maybe i will a little b/c i love your faceeee).

Leave a Reply

